FUFBUF

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hollywood's emperor has no clothes  (Read 3527 times)

berto

• Guru
Hollywood's emperor has no clothes
« on: April 10, 2007, 05:28:18 AM »

Hollywood -- "playing gay"

Let's face it: generally Hollywood sucks (and not in a good way) when it comes to telling queer stories. Sure, there *are* exceptions, including some that are notable -- "Boys Don't Cry" leaps immediately to mind -- but more often than not the better ones that I am familiar with are indy or foreign films. (Granted, though, I am no expert on queer movies, so feel free to chime in, anyone.)

Of late, however, the efforts of Hollywood in this area have been painful to watch. Oh sure, someone's going to mention "that cowboy story".... but they were sheepherders, not cowboys, it was yet another "dead queer story" -- I am *so* beyond tired of those, even though I did just mention BDC upthread -- and besides, as usual, Hollywood had two straight boys "playing gay". (I know, I know, but it's an ongoing complaint of mine.) But despite being probably one of the gayest places on the planet, and notwithstanding Doogie Howser and T.R. Knight on the small screen, Big Screen Hollywood continues to have the closet door nailed firmly shut (with wardrobes and make-up tables stacked against it).

Michael Jensen brings us word of the latest offering, with straight actors "playing gay", Memoirs of Hadrian...